#614: Baby chicks are here!

Aren’t they cute?
I got the call from the USPS Annex at ten of eight this morning.
I headed right out to get them.
The Annex doesn’t open till 10 but baby chick orders can’t wait,
I went round the back and they got them for me.

Fifteen of these little fluffballs!
This sweet girl is a Barnevelder, 
she’ll lay dark brown eggs. 

This one’s a ‘splash’ chick,
her coloring is a double recessive trait.
I’ll have to wait till she starts laying to figure her breed.
The muff feathers suggest an Easter egger.
I love guessing which chicks are which.
It gets easier as they feather in and start to lay.
For now, fluffy cuteness is enough.
Leave a Reply

