#222: Sinking Sand

I live on an island.
Our topsoil is one inch deep, so I know lots about sand.
But it wasn’t until this past Sunday that I 
understood the sand referred to in the hymn,
The Solid Rock or, as originally titled:
The Immutable Basis of a Sinner’s Hope.
I had always pictured ‘sinking sand’
 as being like beach sand. Slippery, pulling out from under your feet
by the waves:
Or giving way, like the side of a dune:
Like at Dionis, where you always have to slide down or jump.
The hymnist’s sinking sand is more like this:
Quicksand. 
On Christ the solid rock I stand
All other ground is sinking sand,
all other ground is sinking sand.
5 responses

  1. I meant to comment about THESE pics – very cool.

  2. Hi Meg, Best one on yet, you are a challenge to the “Adam's Family”! your hubbub

  3. These are hilarious. And very true words to go along with them!

  4. This is awesome, Mom

  5. Oh, I loved this post. And I did not know of the original title to the hymn…what an appropriate name.-Leah M.

Leave a Reply

