Inukshuk or Ebenezer

One winter activity we enjoy every fourth year is television. We get cable hook-up just for the Olympics.The 2010 Olympics were in Vancouver with an inukshuk logo. This inspired David to build one in our yard:

I suggested he build it at the end of our driveway but he was afraid a kid might climb on it and get hurt. David says the Inuit built these guys in caribou territory so the herds would get used to the human form and be easier to hunt. What is it about humans and stacking rocks? The Israelites stacked rocks to remember what God did for them(Joshua 4:4). I built a little remember-God’s-goodness guy at the door of our greenhouse:
The prophet Samuel made a pile of stones and named it “Ebenezer” (1 Samuel 7:12). Which explains that puzzling line in the hymn Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing:
Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by thy help I’ve come, 
and I hope by thy good pleasure, safely to arrive at home.
Jesus sought me when a stranger, 
wandering from the fold of God, 
He to rescue me from danger interposed his precious blood.
There, now you can pay attention to the sermon instead of wondering over hymn lyrics. Or drawing inukshuks on the back of your bulletin…
2 responses

  1. Keep the posts coming Meg. I love reading this.

  2. We always collect rocks when on vacation. I'm not sure what our fascination with rocks stems from, but it is interesting to think about the role rocks played in the Bible. I am reminded of when Jesus said, on His Triumphal entry into Jerusalem, that if the people were quiet then the rocks would cry out about His glory. (Luke 19:40). Peace, Linda

Leave a Reply

