Meeting the King

Nantucket is a little like Narnia. Hard to get to, full of memory, and stamped with the character of the One who made it. See this lamp-post? It’s on my street and always makes me think of the one in C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia. Passing this lamp-post Lucy journeys to meet the King. I took a similar journey to meet Him in our world.
So, the beginning. I was and am a passionate and frequent reader. I feel quite at a loss if I don’t have a current book. When I was about 11 years old my mom and I and my 5 siblings moved in with my grandparents. Joy of joys, they lived within walking distance of the New Canaan Public Library. A grand old stone building with hidey-holes for disappearing into a book. I was on a horse jag at the time and came across A Horse and His Boy by Lewis. What a delicious story! Had he written anything else? The librarian, a heroine of epic stature to  a seeking child, pointed out the rest. Oh, that lovely, lovely lion Aslan. Could that stone Jesus on the cross at St. Aloysius be like Him? I was quite clear on how bad I was and how much I wanted to be better. Quite clear on the Requirements: 10 Commandments, Holy Days of Obligation, Confession and Communion. But not actually beloved. Not one of those children sitting at Jesus’ feet or curled up on His lap. And then I got it. It really is like being blind, then seeing. It wasn’t about my badness, it was all Him. His goodness, His lovingkindness (how I love that word) was the center of the story. Jesus is no stern King seeking to zap me when I mess up. He’s a King who bears my punishment just so I can climb up on His lap. So I did. And I’ve been there ever since.
Not as cool as a ride on Aslan but easily as glorious.

3 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing your journey. Xo LOVE it.

  2. Thanks Meg for the imagery.

  3. This post turned me around this weekend. I turn to Him for comfort and safety. Thank you, Meg.
    God be with you,
    -K

Leave a Reply

